Ttma2020 Key Committees

Key committees meet virtually

July 8, 2020

The cancellation of the TTMA annual convention might have meant no packed conference center, no golf or tennis, and no big banquet, but the work of the Engineering Committee and the Tank Conference Executive Committee carried on—albeit by conference call. The meeting minutes are included here.


John Rust of Trail King Industries led TTMA’s Engineering Committee, which reported on the TMC recent meeting.

TTMA staff then discussed recent issues: GHG regulations for trailers have been suspended; Ontario has been seeking to have a special lift axle control installed but the program is making no headway; and an ATA lighting petition was reviewed as well as other technical issues.

The Committee reviewed its leadership positions and voted to have Chris Lee of Great Dane take over as the incoming chairman, Jim Faulkner of MAC Trailer as First Vice Chairman and Shannon Richardson of XL Specialized as Second Vice Chairman.  

In light of COVID-19, the summer meetings and the hosted fall meeting were converted to teleconferences. Hosted meetings will be pushed back one year.  The committee also discussed hosts who wanted to repeat hosting and the committee approved that with second helpings being pushed to the end of the line.


The Tank Conference Executive Committee (TEC) was gaveled-in by Chairman Peter Weis of EnTrans International.  

Jon Drechsel of LBT delivered an update on TEC activities. The engineers met in conjunction with NTTC’s Tank Truck Week and by teleconference in February. The leadership issue for the committee was settled, with Jon Drechsel of LBT taking over the chairman’s gavel, and Connor Bolander of E.D. Etnyre as Vice Chairman.  

The TEC had devolved a new Technical Bulletin that gained the committee’s approval: TB 134 – Alternative Means to Qualify Registered Inspectors of Cargo Tanks.

John Cannon discussed recent developments with the Cargo Tank Risk Management Committee.  CTRMC has had to cancel their meetings for 2020.  The 19th Safety Summit in Houston, TX, hosted by Solvay was successful.

The executive committee then discussed TankFax, and the association’s work to secure DOT funding to start developing the program.

Finally, the Tank Conference Executive Committee selected members for the ’20-’22 term.

  • Corey Kirk, Tremcar, Incoming Chairman
  • Dave Nick, Wabash, Incoming Vice-chairman
  • Jack Rademacher, MAC LTT
  • Peter Weis, Polar Tank Trailer/EnTrans; and 
  • Scott Hevelone, LBT.