TTMA hangs tough during convention in Tucson

Representatives of North America's largest trailer manufacturers and their suppliers did not let the current market conditions keep them from gathering in Tucson for the 67th annual Truck Trailer Manufacturers Association convention April 29-May 3.

Overall attendance was down, with companies paring down the number of people that they sent. But the number of companies participating in the event was comparable to that of recent TTMA conventions.

Based on some of the data presented at the convention, the event was held at or near the bottom of the worst trailer manufacturing downturn that this generation has experienced. The industry is expected to begin a slow climb to recovery in the next quarter.

During the convention, Dave Tate assumed the chairmanship of the association for the 2009-2010 year. Tate is president of East Manufacturing Corporation, Randolph, Ohio. Other officers for the coming year are: Mark Kulyk, Rogers Brothers Corporation, vice-chairman; Don Wahlin, Stoughton Trailers LLC, treasurer; and Dick Bowling, TTMA, president.

TTMA directors for 2009-2010 are Tom Anderson, LBT Inc; Frank Flowers, General Engines Company; Dan Giles, Fontaine Trailer Company; Dick Giromini, Wabash National Corporation; Glenn Harney, Hyundai Translead; Dale Jones, Timpte Inc; Everett Merritt, Merritt Equipment Company; Charlie Mudd, Vanguard National Trailer; Rick Mullininx, Great Dane Trailers; Ken Nash, Ferree Trailer; Rick Odle, Talbert Manufacturing; Bill Persinger, Wilson Trailer Company; Gary Smith, Kentucky Trailer; Grant Smith, West-Mark; and Bruce Yakley, Brenner Tank LLC.

Chairing TTMA committees will be Dave Shannon, Beall Corporation, chairman of the Policy Committee; Jeff Pitts, Pitts Enterprises, vice-chairman of the Policy Committee; Randy Arlt, Polar Tank Trailer LLC, chairman of the Tank Conference; Greg Hewitt, Heil Trailer International, vice-chairman of the Tank Conference; Darrell Thompson, SAF-Holland USA, chairman for the TTMA associate members; Rick Rickman, Ridewell Suspensions, vice-chairman for the associates; Mark Kulyk, Rogers Brothers Corporation, chairman of the Convention Committee; and Glenn Harney, Hyundai Translead, vice-chairman of the Convention Committee.

TAGS: Archive
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.