What’s in Print
Incoming TTMA chairman Dick Giromini right thanks Andy Tanner for serving as TTMA chairman during the past year

Incoming TTMA chairman Dick Giromini, right, thanks Andy Tanner for serving as TTMA chairman during the past year.

Truck Trailer Manufacturers Association holds 72nd convention as business booms

2014-2015 association's leadership team list

TRAILER manufacturers are on a roll here lately, and if the 72nd Truck Trailer Manufacturers Association convention is any indication, the industry should keep on rolling.

With business going great back home, trailer manufacturers convened for a few days at the J W Marriott Starr Pass to network, work on committees, and learn from a series of speakers.

The mood this year was in stark contrast to what it was when TTMA held its 67th at the same location in 2009. At that convention, trailer shipments were their lowest in a generation, a panel of trailer customers announced that they were drastically cutting trailer purchases, and the forecast for the year called for continued weak demand in the near term.

Not so now. Trailer shipments are at historically high levels and are expected to stay there, according to Steve Tam with ACT Research. And according to a presentation on demographics, the U S will remain a strong environment where trucks and trailers can thrive. Maybe some ups and downs here and there, but generally positive news.

Much like trailer shipments themselves, attendance at this year’s event was high—390 total attendees—which is roughly the same as last year.

The convention marked Andy Tanner’s term as chairman of the board. For 2014-2015, the association’s leadership team will consist of:


TTMA Officers 2O14 - 2O15


Chairman of the Board:

Dick Giromini
Wabash National
West Lafayette, Indiana


Vice-Chairman of the Board:

Dan Giles
Fontaine Military Products
Jasper, Alabama



Menno Eby
M H Eby
Blue Ball, Pennsylvania



Jeff Sims
Gainesville, Virginia


Chairman, Policy Committee:

Grant Smith
Ceres, California


Vice-Chairman Policy Committee:

Andy Tanner
Talbert Manufacturing
Rensselaer, Indiana


Chairman Tank Conference:

John Cannon
The Walker Group
New Lisbon, Wisconsin


Vice Chairman Tank Conference:

Tom Anderson
Omaha, Nebraska


Chairman for Associates:

Jay Davenport
Hauppauge, New York


Vice-Chairman for Associates:

Joe Langemeier
AZZ Galvanizing Services
Fort Worth, Texas


Immediate Past Chairman Associates:

Julius Chambers
Bridgestone Commercial Solutions
Nashville, Tennessee


Chairman Convention Committee:

Dan Giles
Fontaine Military Products
Jasper, Alabama


Vice Chairman Convention Committee:

Dale Jones
Timpte Inc
David City, Nebraska


Tom Anderson


John Cannon
The Walker Group


Zack Coley
Heil Trailer International


David de Poincy
East Manufacturing Corporation


Lloyd Elias
Lode-King Industries


Steve Fairbanks
XL Specialized Trailers


Frank Flowers
General Engines Company Inc.


Dan Giles
Fontaine Military Products


Dick Giromini
Wabash National Corporation


Dale Jones
Timpte, Inc.


Jay Kulyk
Rogers Brothers Corporation


Everett Merritt
Merritt Equipment Company


Rick Mullinix
Great Dane Trailers


Bill Persinger
Wilson Trailer Company


Lynn Reinbolt
Road Systems, Inc.


John Rust
Trail King Industries, Inc.


Dave Shannon


Gary Smith
Kentucky Trailer


Andy Tanner
Talbert Manufacturing, Inc.


Daniel Tremblay
Tremcar, Inc


Bob Wahlin
Stoughton Trailer LLC



Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.