What’s in Print
Andy Tanner TTMA chairman left recognizes the winners of the annual TTMA plant safety contest Lynn Reinbolt Conway Manufacturing Randy Williams Stephens Pneumatics Rick Mullinix Great Dane Trailers Mark Weber Bulk Tank International Zack Coley Heil Trailer International

Operating safe trailer plants

Andy Tanner, TTMA chairman, left, recognizes the winners of the annual TTMA plant safety contest; Lynn Reinbolt, Con-way Manufacturing; Randy Williams, Stephens Pneumatics; Rick Mullinix, Great Dane Trailers; Mark Weber, Bulk Tank International; Zack Coley, Heil Trailer International.

TTMA recognized the winners of the association’s annual plant safety awards during the association’s convention in Tucson.

The awards are based on plant safety data from TTMA member companies that submit their annual OSHA 300A Summary Form—the same data used by the National Safety Council and the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Two sets of awards are offered, one for tank and the other for general trailer manufacturers. Each set is divided by plant size: Class A (more than 750,000 man-hours per year), Class B (350,000 to 750,000 man-hours, and Class C (under 350,000 man-hours).

For general trailer manufacturers, the winners were: Category A, Great Dane Trailers for its Brazil, Indiana, plant; Category B, Wilson Trailer for its Yankton, South Dakota, facility; and Category C, Con-way Manufacturing of Searcy, Arkansas.

Category A, Heil Trailer International’s plant in Athens, Tennessee; Category B, Bulk Tank International for its plant in San Jose Iturbide, Mexico; and Category C, Stephens Pneumatics plant in Haslet, Texas.

TTMA also recognizes the plant (tank or general trailer manufacturer) with the most improved safety record. The manufacturer posting the best improvement between 2012 and 2013 was the Manac Trailers USA plant in Kennett, Missouri. ♦


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.