Davis to serve as 54th NTEA president

March 8, 2018
Davis to serve as 54th NTEA president

Todd Davis, vice president of Phenix Truck Bodies & Van Equipment (Pomona, California), was installed today as 54th president of the National Truck Equipment Association (NTEA).

He accepted this position from immediate past president Adam Keane, executive vice-president of Allied Body Works Inc. (Seattle, Washington), at the President’s Breakfast & NTEA Annual Meeting held in conjunction with The Work Truck Show 2018.

            “I’m proud to be part of this industry at this unique point in time,” said Todd. “As Association president, I look forward to continuing my work as part of a remarkable NTEA team to further industry knowledge, growth and profitability for our members.”

            Todd earned a Bachelor of Science degree from California State University, Long Beach. After several years on the sales and marketing team at Cooper Industries, Todd joined Phenix at the age of 26. Twenty-five years later, he and his two business partners have transformed the small business to one with more than 100 employees and 100,000 square feet of production and installation facility space on 10 Southern California acres.

Phenix — an NTEA member since 1991 — has been manufacturing specialty work trucks for Southern California municipalities, utilities, fire departments and the U.S. government since 1978. In addition to its custom-built, high-content solutions, a decade ago, the company expanded its offerings to include multiple work truck body types and configurations (non-Phenix manufactured), van equipment, and accessory products from the industry’s top manufacturers.

In March 2012, Todd stepped in as an NTEA Distributor Trustee — appointed to fulfill the remaining term of a vacated Board position. In 2013, he was elected to serve a full three-year term and subsequently selected as part of the Executive Committee.

2018–2019 NTEA Board

Also serving on the Board’s Executive Committee are: First Vice President Wm. Craig Bonham of Safe Fleet (West St. Paul, Minnesota); Second Vice President Peter Miller of Pro-Tech Industries (La Vergne, Tennessee); Third Vice President/Treasurer Jon Sievert of Henderson Products Inc. (Manchester, Iowa); and Secretary Steve Carey of NTEA (Farmington Hills, Michigan).

Distributor Trustees

Calvin Geddings of Lee Transport Equipment Inc. (Columbia, South Carolina)

Paul Kokalis of Fontaine Modification (Charlotte, North Carolina)

Shane McDermott of Carco Industries Inc. (Tualatin, Oregon)

Jason Ritchey of Curry Supply Co. (Martinsburg, Pennsylvania)

David J. Scheitlin of Auto Truck Group LLC (Roanoke, Indiana)

Manufacturer Trustees

Tina Albright of TBEI Inc. (Lake Crystal, Minnesota)

M. Travis Eby of M.H. Eby Inc. (Blue Ball, Pennsylvania)

Sean Moran of Stellar Industries Inc. (Garner, Iowa)

Associate Trustee

Ken Gillies of Element Fleet Management (Eden Prairie, Minnesota)

50-year member companies

During the President’s Breakfast, NTEA recognized nine companies celebrating their 50th year of continuous Association membership.

Auto Truck Group LLC

Bus Andrews Equipment Inc.

Crysteel Mfg. Inc.

Kranz Automotive Body Co.

Meyer Products LLC

PAFCO Truck Bodies Inc.

Simonsen Industries Inc.

TAFCO Equipment Co.

WALTCO Lift Corp.