SAE Meeting to Concentrate on Truck Safety

Trucks are involved in more than 5,000 fatalities annually, and panelists at the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) International Truck and Bus Meeting and Exposition will be looking for ways to cut that statistic in half when they meet Dec 4, 2000, in Portland OR.

The panel on safety technology is one of three issue forums being held by SAE and will be webcast live December 4 from 1 to 3 pm Pacific Time (4 to 6 pm Eastern). Viewers can visit the SAE web site at www.sae.org/truck to receive information on how to participate in the forum. The Changing Business Models issue forum will be held December 5, and an issue forum on diesel engines and the environment will take place December 6. Both panels are 8 to 10 am Pacific Time (11 am to 1 pm Eastern).

Panelists include: Julie Anna Cirillo, acting assistant administrator of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration; James Hall, chairman, National Transportation Safety Board; Jim Johnston, president, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association Inc; Richard J Manfredi, president and chief executive officer, Manfredi Motor Transit Co; and David Willis, president and CEO of the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

Thomas J Donohue, president and CEO of the United States Chamber of Commerce, will lead the panel in considering advanced safety and information technologies designed to avoid accidents and limit injuries and damage when they occur.

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish